Ward System

			        Ward System


A ward is an electoral district used in municipal politics, most notably in Canada, the United Kingdom and in many cities in the United States.  A primary purpose for the establishment of wards is to attempt to ensure that the democratic principle of fair public representation is achieved during municipal elections and the subsequent governance of the municipality by Council.


Within the Town of Lincoln, four wards have been established by the Council, with each of the four wards containing roughly the same number of electors.  For election purposes, each ward is further subdivided into polling subdivisions to streamline the voting process.


The Mayor of the Town of Lincoln is elected “at-large” by all eligible electors (in all wards) of the Town of Lincoln.


The remaining eight (8) Members of Council are elected on a ward basis.  The Town is divided into four (4) geographic wards (see the Ward and Polling Subdivision Map, below) and eligible electors in each of those wards elect two candidates to sit as Members of Council to represent their ward, as well as the greater interests of the Corporation of the Town of Lincoln.


The Town's ward boundaries are depicted below.

map of the town of lincoln 



While all Members of Council are willing and able to assist with any public inquiries, you can find your local representatives by identifying the Ward in which you are located (using the above maps) and then proceeding to the Mayor and Council webpages for full contact information.




4800 South Service Road
Beamsville, Ontario
L0R 1B1

TEL: 905-563-8205
FAX: 905-563-6566
Emergency After-hours: 905-641-0971

Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2013 iCompass Technologies Inc.