Media Release - Niagara Economic Rapid Response Team Formed

Niagara Mayors and Regional Chair join together to form Niagara Economic Rapid Response Team

March 18, 2020 - Niagara’s Mayors and Regional Chair have announced a joint effort to support local businesses impacted by COVID-19 with a region-wide Niagara Economic Rapid Response Team.
As we go through this unprecedented and quickly-changing situation, it is critical to work together to support local businesses and employers both now and into the future. Building on a strong foundation of collaboration, the Rapid Response Team will go beyond municipal borders to be as responsive and flexible as possible to the needs of
Niagara’s business community.
The Rapid Response Team will be comprised of professional economic development staff across Niagara’s municipalities who will work together to respond to the changing needs of local business and employers. The team response will allow municipal resources to go beyond municipal boundaries and that all local businesses receive
timely, responsive support.
The Rapid Response Team is already working together to survey business needs advocate on behalf of Niagara’s business community and help keep business going. The Team is compiling information about federal and provincial support programs that have been announced for businesses and employers. The Team will also consider adjusting local business programs in response to changing needs.
Business owners can contact their local economic development office ( or where emails will be triaged and connected quickly with a member of the Niagara Economic Rapid Response Team.
Sandra Easton, Mayor of Lincoln
Dave Bylsma, Mayor of West Lincoln
Jeff Jordan, Mayor of Grimsby
Frank Campion, Mayor of Welland
Marvin Junkin, Mayor of Pelham
Jim Diodati, Mayor of Niagara Falls
Wayne Redekop, Mayor of Fort Erie
Betty Disero, Lord Mayor of Niagara-on-the-Lake
Walter Sendzik, Mayor of St. Catharines
Bill Steele, Mayor of Port Colborne
Kevin Gibson, Mayor of Wainfleet
Terry Ugulini, Mayor of Thorold
Jim Bradley, Regional Chair
Date modified: